Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I heard about pumpkin bread so many times from my friends, that I decided – It’s time!

From reading different recipes, it seems that most of what I was able to find should rather be called pumpkin cake with this amount of sugar in it..  :)

I wanted to do a more healthy version, that’s why instead of sweetening it like in most recipes with ~a cup of white sugar, I added dried apricots, orange a bit of honey and just 3 spoons of brown sugar.

I love the combination of dried apricots and almonds, and lately I am experimenting with chia seeds.. Now that I think about it, I saw a recipe, few days ago, for a banana pie, with chia seeds and biscuits, and I think I got inspired a bit :)

This pumpkin bread recipe has on average 2 times more pumpkin then in the recipes I was able to find. It is very rich in fiber, and very healthy because of the oats, chia and pumpkin itself. Not to mention almonds and cinnamon’s great influence on us.. 

It came out quite sweet and moist, with a delicate cinnamon and pumpkin flavour. Enjoy!

pumpkinbred_s
Ingredients:
  • about 8 dried apricots, diced
  • 1/3 cup of olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon of cinnamon
  • 300g of baked, diced pumpkin (like in this recipe)
  • 40g of shredded almonds
  • 1,5 cup of oats
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 4 tablespoons of chia seeds
  • 2 spoons of honey(I used honeydew)
  • 1 chopped orange(with the juice)
  • 3 tablespoons of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
Easiest recipe in the world :)

Preheat oven to 170C. In a bowl mix: eggs with sugar, add honey, orange and olive oil. Mix well with the rest of the ingredients.

Bake for about 1 hour and 10 min.

Bon appetit!

Tips & Tricks
This recipe has a lot of pumpkin and together with orange it will give the bread a lot of moisture. Don’t expect it to become dry after baking.

