Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have heard a lot about all kinds of different pumpkin dishes before I had a chance to try it myself. I guess pumpkin became fashionable as everybody started cooking with it. Did my homework, read about it’s health benefits and I was in love -as I am a bit of a healthy food addict : ). My first pumpkin dish was a similar to this one Hokkaido pumpkin creme soup. I wasn’t really sure about what kind of taste to expect.. It turned out to be sweet, a bit honey-like and very filling. Now it’s one of my favourites!

A warming up, aromatic pumpkin soup with garlic, ginger pepper

Ingredients:

  • 1 one medium size Hokkaido pumpkin
  • 2 shallots
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1cm piece of ginger
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1 bay leaf
  • salt, pepper

The soup base:

  • 2 carrots
  • 2 parsley roots
  • leek
  • celery root

To serve with:

  • a spoon of creme fraiche(>12%)

The Magic:

Preheat oven to 200C. Wash the pumpkin and cut into 4 pieces. Take the seeds out. Sprinkle it with salt and pepper and cook in the oven for about 20min so that the pumpkin becomes soft.

Into the pot, add the olive oil and fry the onion with smashed garlic and ginger. Add 2 cups of water and add all the chopped soup ingredients + the bay leaf. Boil for about 10min.

Take the pumpkin out of the oven and peal it of the skin. Cut into smaller pieces and add to the soup. Boil for about 5-7min. Add salt and pepper as need. Take out the bay leaf and blend it.

Bon appetit!

Tip:

It’s nice to serve it with a spoon of creme fraishe and sprinkled with pepper.

